Skip to content

Summer Academic Calendar

The dates in this calendar apply to students registered for courses that meet during our seven-week session.

High school students: see the Secondary School Program calendar or the Harvard Pre-College Program calendar for dates that apply to you.

Seven-Week Session: June 18-August 6

Course registration begins
Register early for best choice of courses. You must pay your balance in full by the payment deadline. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists.
Tuesday, March 1
Full payment deadline
Pay your balance in full by this date. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists. Registration with immediate full payment remains open through June 16.
Monday, May 16
Accessibility services request deadline Monday, May 16
Memorial Day
Offices closed
Monday, May 30
English proficiency requirement deadline Thursday, June 9
Course registration deadline
Last day to register for summer courses. Late registration is not permitted after this date.
Thursday, June 16
Course change period
For registered students only
Friday, June 17-Thursday, June 23
Opening Weekend
Orientation meetings, student arrival and check-in
Saturday, June 18
Juneteenth Holiday (Observed)
Offices closed
Monday, June 20
Classes begin
Begin attending and participating in online classes from the first class meeting.
Tuesday, June 21
Health insurance waiver deadline Thursday, June 23
Course changes deadline Thursday, June 23
Course drop and withdrawal deadlines:
Last day to drop courses for 100% tuition refund Thursday, June 23
Last day to drop courses for 50% tuition refund Thursday, June 30
Last day to withdraw from courses for no tuition refund
Course on record with WD (withdrawal) grade
Friday, July 22
Independence Day
No classes; offices closed
Monday, July 4
Final exams and last class meetings Monday August 1-Friday, August 5
Residence buildings close, students move out by noon Saturday, August 6
Grades available online Tuesday, August 16
Last day to make up EXT grades
Instructor may set earlier due date.
Friday, Sept. 2

Three-Week Session I: June 18 – July 8

Course registration begins
Register early for best choice of courses.
Tuesday, March 1
Full payment deadline
Pay your balance in full by this date. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists. Registration with immediate full payment remains open through June 16.
Monday, May 16
Accessibility services request deadline Monday, May 16
Memorial Day
Offices closed
Monday, May 30
English proficiency requirement deadline Thursday, June 9
Course registration deadline
Last day to register for summer courses. Late registration is not permitted after this date.
Thursday, June 16
Course change period 
For registered students only
Friday, June 17-Thursday, June 23
Opening Weekend
Student arrival and check-in
Saturday, June 18
Juneteenth Holiday (Observed)
Offices closed
Monday, June 20
Classes begin
Begin attending and participating in online classes from the first class meeting.
Tuesday, June 21
Health insurance waiver deadline Thursday, June 23
Course changes deadline Thursday, June 23
Course drop and withdrawal deadlines:
Last day to drop courses for 100% tuition refund Thursday, June 23
Last day to withdraw from courses for no tuition refund
Course on record with WD (withdrawal) grade
Thursday, June 30
Independence Day
No classes; offices closed
Monday, July 4
Final exams and last class meetings Friday, July 7
Resident Students Move Out Friday, July 8
Grades available online Tuesday, July 19
Last day to make up EXT grades
Instructor may set earlier due date.
Friday, July 22

Three-Week Session II: July 10 – July 29

Course registration begins
Register early for best choice of courses.
Tuesday, March 1
Full payment deadline
Pay your balance in full by this date. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists. Registration with immediate full payment remains open through June 16.
Monday, May 16
Accessibility services request deadline Monday, May 16
Memorial Day
Offices closed
Monday, May 30
English proficiency requirement deadline Thursday, June 9
Course registration deadline
Last day to register for summer courses. Late registration is not permitted after this date.
Thursday, June 16
Course change period
For registered students only
Friday, June 17-Wednesday, July 13
Juneteenth Holiday (Observed)
Offices closed
Monday, June 20
Student arrival and check-in Sunday, July 10
Classes begin
Begin attending and participating in online classes from the first class meeting.
Monday, July 11
Course changes deadline Wednesday, July 13
Health insurance waiver deadline Wednesday, July 13
Course drop and withdrawal deadlines:
Last day to drop courses for 100% tuition refund Wednesday, July 13
Last day to withdraw from courses for no tuition refund
Course on record with WD (withdrawal) grade
Thursday, July 21
Independence Day (observed)
No classes; offices closed
Monday, July 4
Final exams and last class meetings Thursday, July 28
Resident students move out Friday, July 29
Grades available online Tuesday, August 9
Last day to make up EXT grades
Instructor may set earlier due date.
Friday, August 12

All deadlines are the dates by which materials must be submitted online or received at 51 Brattle Street.

Administrative offices are closed on University holidays, weekends, May 30, June 20, and July 4.